Will County

Will County Resolution

Authorizing the County Executive to Execute an Intergovernmental Agreement between the County of Will and Certain Taxing Districts for the Financing of Public Improvements for the Development of Property South of US Route 6 and East of I-55


Department:County Board AdminSponsors:
Category:Approval of Contract


WHEREAS, the Village of Channahon (the “Village”) is a Home-Rule Municipal Corporation situated in the County of Will pursuant to Article VII, Section 6 of the Illinois Constitution of the State of Illinois; and

WHEREAS, the County of Will (the “County”) is a body corporate and politic; and

WHEREAS, Crossroads 55, LLC (“Crossroads”) is a Delaware limited liability company; and

WHEREAS, the Village, the County, Channahon School District 17, Board of Education of Minooka Community High School District No. 111, Troy School District 30-C, Will County Forest Preserve, Channahon Park District, Channahon Fire Protection District, Community College District 525, Three Rivers Public Library District (the “Taxing Districts”) desire to provide public road and water main improvements to East Frontage Road, Amoco Road and Exchange Boulevard; and

WHEREAS, the Illinois Intergovernmental Cooperation Act (5 ILCS 220/1 et seq.) authorizes municipalities to exercise jointly with any public agency of the State, including other units of local government, any power, privilege, or authority which may be exercised by a unit of local government individually, and to enter into contracts for the performance of governmental services, activities, and undertakings; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 7, Section 10 of the 1970 Constitution of the State of Illinois, the Village and the County are empowered to contract for the purposes set forth therein; and

WHEREAS, the County is authorized by the Illinois Property Tax Code to abate property taxes (35 ILCS 200/18-165(a)) for a period not to exceed 10 years and in an aggregate of amount of abated taxes for all Taxing Districts not to exceed $4.0 million for each building constructed; and

WHEREAS, Crossroads will construct road improvements to the East Frontage Road, Amoco Road and Exchange Boulevard extension located South of U.S. Route 6 and East of I-55; along with water main improvements at Crossroads costs, then the County (along with the other Taxing Districts) will reimburse Crossroads for constructing the road improvements by directing the Will County Clerk to abate one hundred percent (100%) of the real estate taxes for a period of 10 years; and

WHEREAS, unusual circumstances do exist in that the County will abate taxes for Crossroads in exchange for the above improvements for the purposes of economic development within the County as Crossroad develops the property for safer traffic conditions, improvements to the road system and enhanced water service; and

WHEREAS, the Village, County, Crossroads and other Taxing Districts wish to acknowledge in this Intergovernmental Agreement that the Village, County, Crossroads and other Taxing Districts are working cooperatively to address their mutual interests in the development of Will County.


NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Will County Board hereby authorizes the County Executive to execute an Intergovernmental Agreement between the County of Will, Taxing Districts and Crossroads 55, LLC, for the development of property generally located South of U.S. Route 6 and East of I-55, attached hereto and made a part hereof, subject to the review and approval of the State’s Attorney’s office.


FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED, that the Preamble of this Resolution is hereby adopted as if fully set forth herein. This Resolution shall be in full force and effect upon its passage and approval as provided by law.

Meeting History

May 4, 2017 10:00 AM  WC Executive Committee Assignment Meeting
May 11, 2017 10:00 AM  WC Executive Committee Board Agenda Setting Meeting
MOVER:Donald Gould, Member
SECONDER:Denise E. Winfrey, Member
AYES:Jim Moustis, Herbert Brooks Jr., Mike Fricilone, Donald Gould, Suzanne Hart, Judy Ogalla, Annette Parker, Lauren Staley-Ferry, Ray Tuminello, Tom Weigel, Denise E. Winfrey
ABSENT:Charles E. Maher, Darren Bennefield
May 18, 2017 9:30 AM  Will County Board Recessed Meeting
MOVER:Jim Moustis, Speaker, District 2 (R - Frankfort)
SECONDER:Charles E. Maher, District 11 (R - Naperville)
AYES:Judy Ogalla, Laurie Summers, Jim Moustis, Cory Singer, Donald A. Moran, Beth Rice, Kenneth E. Harris, Jacqueline Traynere, Darren Bennefield, Gretchen Fritz, Donald Gould, Debbie Militello, Steve Balich, Mike Fricilone, Herbert Brooks Jr., Denise E. Winfrey, Annette Parker, Lauren Staley-Ferry, Gloria Dollinger, Tyler Marcum, Suzanne Hart, Charles E. Maher, Ray Tuminello, Tom Weigel, Mark Ferry, Tim Kraulidis